324. Disconnectivity

I woke up last Saturday with a dim feeling of “awdangit” when I remembered I didn’t do a Fiction Friday post on account of being too tired. It was 9.30A.M., and before anything else, I thought I’ll go and have breakfast. I did, and when I saw the home computer beside the TV, I thought that I should look into the problem with the monitor the family had been pestering me about for the couple of days before that.

It took about 10 minutes for me to realize that the graphic card came loose inside the CPU, and with a little push, the card slid right back into place, and the monitor resumed its duties as as monitor. I sat down for a while and clicked around, looking up the Wikipedia entries for Mr. Jonze’s Her and The Elder Scrolls’ Wiki.

Which was when the internet abruptly stopped.

I stared at the modem for a while, and it stared back. When nothing changed after a minute, I asked mom:

“Is the internet off?”

She looked up from her phone and asked, “Is it?”

“Did you pay the internet bill?”

Silence from her. And then finally, “I asked your brother to come with me yesterday to pay the bills. He didn’t want to.”

“But I just fixed the monitor.”

She shrugged. “It’s going to be a quiet weekend,” she said contemplatively.

It was.


I didn’t notice most of the weekend passing by. I busied myself with playing Skyrim and editing some stories I was planning to submit for most of Saturday, and the on Sunday I had an afternoon date and then a family dinner. The feeling of isolation from the net didn’t kick in until Monday night, when I arrived home earlier than usual from work and found the internet still not working.

ME
You guys still haven’t paid the internet bill yet?

LITTLE SISTER
IDK we paid them but the internet still isn’t working.

(she actually says “IDK” instead of “I don’t know”)

ME
Didn’t you, like, call them?

LITTLE SISTER
Dono. Call them tomorrow.

Later that night, I was desperate enough for internet that I connected through my phone’s 3G connection. It was painfully slow, but it was the internet, all right. I wandered onto Facebook, Twitter, clicked around aimlessly for a bit, and wondered why was I so desperate to get here in the first place.

(a little bit like how dogs/cats are so desperate to head out, but once they’re out, they’re not even sure what to do with themselves)

I ended up disconnecting after 13 minutes, contenting myself with reading an SF short story before going off to sleep.


The internet was back for real on Tuesday night. The first thing I used it to do was to browse 9gag, effectively wasting a full hour of time I could have spent doing more productive things.

(although when you think about it, virtually anything could be considered more productive than browsing 9gag. Like learning how to fold origami, for instance)

I sometimes wonder why we do this to ourselves.

Leave a Reply

