300. Saturday

(you’ll notice that I missed the post in which I was supposed to write about Friday. I will tell you that it was an intentional move: a symbolic act to show how Friday is a day of carefreeness, of having the freedom to forget, at least temporarily, about obligations. I will also be lying. I completely forgot about it and wrote about falling asleep instead)

This morning I woke up at 6.18A.M., rolled around for a little bit before eventually leaving my bed at 6.49A.M., then going downstairs to boot up my laptop and made breakfast for myself. For the first time in my life, I made scrambled eggs, cooked ham, made toast on a grill, and ate it myself before cleaning everything up afterwards. I think I have this grown-up thing pretty much nailed, with this.

For the first four day-of-the-week themed posts, I expressed surprise that I even made it that far without repeating a title. This time, I can’t believe I haven’t given up on this exercise yet. Somewhere past the 270th post, I came to the realization that I was really, really running out of ideas.

(somewhere, the hypocrisy alarm is going off)

I’ll tell you that ideas are unlimited, and that will be true. Everything that has been invented from the dawn of mankind to the present day does not even begin to scratch the surface of the things that we will achieve as a species. As far as original ideas go, they go on forever.

Unfortunately, I, Joseph Ng, do not constitute, or have the imagination of, an entire species.

No doubt any other person can look at this space and immediately point out something that I haven’t blogged about – dating, for example. Love. Sex. War. Violence. Dance. Exotic travel locations. There are plenty of things I haven’t talked about. But they’re someone else’s ideas. They’re not my ideas.

(just like how you have jurisdiction over your own children, but not other people’s children… Even though they’re all children. You get my drift?)

There are 65 more posts to go. I have plenty of story ideas left, so we can take 1 from every 7 out of that number, leaving us with 56 posts. Honestly, I’m not sure if I can keep this up for 56 more times. Heck, I don’t even have any ideas for the next 5 posts. But like in any grand undertaking, I just keep repeating to myself, “One day at a time… One day at a time…”

But hey, we’re supposed to be in a celebrative mood for this milestone, right? I mean, 300 posts. That’s at least 150,000 words posted on this site now, or the average length of a Stephen King novel. Just a little bit more, and I would’ve written enough words to rival American Gods.

(off on a tangental topic, Anansi Boys is turning out to be quite the enjoyable read. More polished the Neverwhere, and heaps more fun compared to American Gods)

So here’s to how far we have all come. You, reading this, for sticking with me – whether for the past 300 days for the last 3 minutes; and me, for, you know, writing all this crap.

The skies fade over Saturday, and Sunday is coming…

Leave a Reply

