264. Board Games!

Yesterday, I was thinking about all the things I’d do on Monday. I’ll sleep comfortably until maybe 9A.M. or 10A.M., wake up, have a nice breakfast nearby my house, and play Skyrim all day long. It was a good idea. Why, I could even imagine myself waking up to the sunlight streaming in from my bedroom windows, the air still chilly from the rain that fell the night before…

And then I remembered that I had a board game date on Monday.

Shit.

(yes, I have just begun playing the 5th installment in the Elder Scrolls series. Don’t judge me)

It was 6A.M. when I finished writing Sunday’s 2,000 words for A Song For The Rain. I had the choice, of course, to stay up and forget about sleep entirely. But if there’s anything I learned from university life about pulling all nighters, it was that you have to go and get yourself some sleep, no matter how short – 3 hours, 1 hour, or 15 minutes, you go and sleep.

So taking that advice in, and also to avoid having to answer mom’s questions when she came down the stairs some 30 minutes later, I shut everything off and went to bed.

If I didn’t feel like shit upon remembering my date on Sunday afternoon, I sure did when I woke up some 3 hours later, at 9.30A.M.

Mercifully, I didn’t have to make the drive to Kota Damansara. Again, if I didn’t feel like shit when I woke up at 9.30A.M. after 3 hours of sleep, I sure did when the clock hit 11.30A.M. and I hadn’t had anything to eat.

Thankfully, food came swiftly; and when it came, it came in generous portions and respectable flavors. I flat out refused to do anything else until I had been fed, and luckily for them, my companions felt the same way.

(there was a little episode in between eating and what comes next, involving getting severely disappointed with a couple of stores in the Kota Damansara area, but we shall not go there)

What followed, at about 2P.M., were board games.

Now I’m not much of a board games kind of person. I’ve always thought of myself as more of a PC or console gamer. There’s just something about the waiting for other players to make their moves that grates me so, and there’s also the problem of getting a bunch of people together for an entire afternoon to sit down and play board games.

But I guess enjoying board games are like enjoying alcoholic beverages: if you don’t, you just haven’t found the right one yet.

(the same could be said for love, I believe)

Over the course of 4 hours, we played 3 different board games: an interesting one called Carcassone; another highly amusing one called Ankh-Morpork (which I had taken to call “The Game of Screwing Each Other Over), based on Mr. Pratchett’s Discworld; and finally, a good dose of black humor with a card game called Guillotine.

I don’t have much to offer on the subject, except that, well, it was pretty fun. And you should try it out if you have the time and opportunity too.

In the meantime, I must catch up on lost sleep.

(I must also catch up on the word count for A Song For The Rain, but after 1,000 words tonight my brain just refuses to work anymore. I’ll just have to make up for it tomorrow)

Leave a Reply

