243. A Song For The Rain

(let it be known that when I go to watch Avengers: Age of Ultron in cinemas next year, I’m there primarily for the lovely Elizabeth Olsen. I’d say that it should be criminal to look that adorable, but then I’ll suffer from a serious lack of eye candy)

(on the subject of pretty girls, does anyone know what Lily Collins has been up to lately?)

Today has been one of them 500-word days.

I used to tell people that there are days when you get into the flow, and you find yourself writing 10,000 words before realizing that you’ll pass out if you don’t get food soon, and there are days when you write 5 words, delete all of them, and resign to playing video games for the rest of the day.

Well.

I’ve found out, over the past 3 months, that even when faced with a severe lack of things to write about, you can still somehow squeeze 2,000 words out of you. Talk about the scenery. Talk about your characters’ fantasies. Talk about things completely unrelated to the story. It’s entirely possible.

But there are also the days when you get so distracted, all you manage is 500 words. Today has been one of them days.

I’ve tried every trick in the book: I’ve switched POVs, I’ve made characters talk about completely unrelated things, I’ve shared their thoughts… And all it amounts to are the 500 words that I have. The story refuses to work any further.

Maybe tomorrow I’ll take a whip to it.

On the bright side, I think I’ve managed to find a title that I’m happy with for the Cameron Highlands story, and it’s A Song For The Rain.

I know I can’t get any cheesier than that, but that’s what I’m sticking with until I get hit by a bolt of genius. Besides, I like how wistful and mysterious it sounds.

(I actually came up with 3 separate title ideas for the story, which I ended up using to name the 3 sections of the story, leaving me with nothing to name the story as a whole with. The 3 titles? “A Voice In The Wind”, “A Dream of Ashes”, and “The Fire’s Shadow”. If it sounds like a A Song Of Ice And Fire ripoff, it is)

In other news, I have decided to take the whole of Tuesday off to fully relish the feeling of being in between jobs, because I will need the time to, you know, recuperate, and, um, stuff. Stuff that involves Batman, guns, and a BioShock Infinite DLC.

I honestly cannot wait.

Leave a Reply

