166. Keep Writing

After 167 days of continuous writing (give and take), I believe there’s something to be learned here.

There were the days that I simply ran dry. I couldn’t find a compelling topic to write about. The words wouldn’t come to me. There were days that I dreaded this project, and wished that I could just copy and paste an earlier work for the sake of an update.

But that’s not the point of this exercise. The point of to write something every day, not to post something every day. There were days when it was difficult.

I kept writing.

Then there were the days that the words came like the turning on of the tap. I arrived at the “New Post” page just as the mystical public bus of inspiration came into the stop. Every word came forth like a bolt of genius, every sentence concise and sharp. There were those days that writing was easy, and it seemed as though I’d hit the pinnacle of my writing ability.

But when the next day rolled around, I had to move on.

I kept writing.

Good, bad, mediocre – every day was a new challenge to put words onto the screen, yesterday’s triumphs or failures be damned. Whether it was an amazing or a disastrous writing day in the one that had passed, it was gone. The new day demanded that I keep writing, and see what comes out of it.

I kept writing.

There’s something to be learned here, I think. Too often I peg my self worth upon past successes or failures. There are the days when I wake up feeling awesome, because I am a published author who has written for a diverse range of mediums, from the stage to the screen, and the screen to the page. Then there are the days when I wake up and wonder how I ended up where I am, and if life is worth living when your dreams seem to be so far out of reach.

There are the days when all I want to do is write. There are the days when all I want is to not write.

The next day comes. I must keep writing.

Because regardless of how I’ve felt; regardless of whether I’ve written for TV or theater or books; regardless of whether I’ve won awards for my work, those are all in the past. The new day presents a new challenge, and I must rise up to it. The past provides good perspective and foundation, but is otherwise a terrible place to look at if one desires to move forward.

As Mr. Nolan so eloquently puts it in the teaser trailer to Interstellar: Our greatest accomplishments cannot be behind us.

My greatest triumphs cannot have already passed me by. Not when I’ve only just started out. Not when I have so much to learn. To experience. There are things to be done. People to meet.

I believe that I’ll get there. Someday. One day.

I’ll keep writing.

Leave a Reply

