141. Busy Waking Hours

The previous post was written in that hazy stupor between sleep and wakefulness. I may have offended a few deities in the process; not very sure about what happened.

When I walked out of the examination hall three Thursdays ago, I honestly thought that I would be looking forward to days of simply lazing around, reading all the books that has been piling up in my room, binge watching TV series that I’ve missed out on all this time, playing all the computer games – generally doing what I wanted, whenever I wanted to.

I ended up, however, becoming heavily involved in the editing process of my church’s 25th anniversary video.

Nothing wrong with that in itself. I knew what I was signing up for when I agreed to come on as director/head writer of the project. Since the folks in the media team were the very ones who taught me how to do offline video editing, it was pretty much understood between us that I’ll be involved with the editing process as well.

I just didn’t know that it would take so long.

As of today, I think I have committed more hours to making the 20-minute feature look and sound good than I have committed to my studies all year, and the work’s barely completed. I wake up, have my first meal of the day, and then I’m in the office usually for the next ten hours or so working on the video, taking breaks only for meals and nature’s call. I’ll arrive at home, too exhausted to do anything but to get a few things done (updating this blog, for example) and then crashing until the next day. Rinse and repeat.

As you may have noticed, sometimes I crash earlier and harder than expected. I swear that one moment I was looking at facebook, and the next moment my eyes were already shut, and my brother was telling me to get up and go sleep on a proper bed. And still nothing was written on the blog.

Then as though the video project wasn’t enough, another video project had came back from the dead to haunt me, and more likely, chew my brains out. I remember wondering to working folks about how difficult can working with clients be – I mean, aren’t we all reasonable human beings with enough maturity to reach a compromise without much hassle? Dealing with this undead video project has taught me to empathize with these aforementioned working folks. Not so much the clients.

It gets so busy, and to a certain point monotonous – the fact that I’m working on the same project day after day – that I’m beginning to lose track of the days of the week. I mean, it’s already past the middle of the month, and it is only now that I realize that I haven’t done as much Christmas shopping as I should have.

“So this is what the working life feels like?” I asked, referring to how the days just fly by.

“You still wake up at 12.30,” my mentor and co-laborer on the 25th anniversary video project snapped, and I just shrugged.

Maybe it is time to grow up and face the real world.

Leave a Reply

