50. Monday

This is the 50th post on this blog. Over the past 50 days, I have faithfully committed to screen 500 words daily, give and take some – that’s 25,000 words written, half the length of a full novel.

Given that it is a year-long project, though, 50 consecutive entries only mean that I am about one-seventh of the way through.

(that’s 1/7.3 for you precision freaks)

One-seventh of the way through. It’s probably fair to say that in the workweek of this project, I have just completed Monday’s portion. On the bright side, the worst is over – the grind of getting it into habit and cranking the gears to work, dammit, work, is over and done with. On the dark side (because dark is the opposite of bright, right?), there are 6 more days to go. In excess of 300 more posts to write, and I’m already complaining about running out of ideas.

One day at a time, that’s what they tell the people who are involved in the daily grind, right? One day at a time. Tomorrow’s 500 words will worry for itself – just focus on writing today’s 500 words. Wednesday will worry for itself; just focus on Tuesday and what can be done on Tuesday.

(unless another camp comes up, in which case I will be forced to crank out a few days’ worth of content before I leave for that few days. I’m actually hoping for this to happen for the 17th and 18th of October, because it would mean that I have been at least shortlisted for the Manchester Fiction Writing Prize. Fingers crossed for that – and doubly crossed for me to actually win it)

Last Friday afternoon, I was tasked with summarizing the church’s full history for the church’s 25th anniversary video outline. Really, I surprised myself when I managed to finish typing the whole history in 2 hours – 5 full pages, calibri 11, and single spaced, coming up to a total of more than 2,000 words.

(that’s nothing, some smart alec might say, I can write 2,000 words in 20 minutes. What’s the big deal? The big deal, mister, is that summarizing a history takes up brain power, and brain power takes effort and time)

This project has definitely been beneficial thus far – and it is only the end of Monday. Who knows what might happen on the way to the end of Sunday? Who knows what the next 300 days will hold for this Malaysian writer who’s hoping to make it big in the international scene?

Perhaps by the end of Sunday I would have successfully sold a screenplay. Or published a full-length novel. Or maybe I would be working – whether as a script writer, a script reader, or even a copywriter. I might still be living where I am at the moment – I might be living somewhere else entirely. Maybe in another country. Another continent.

Who’s to say, right?

The image from Makoto Shinkai’s 5 Centimeters Per Second comes to mind – the rocket launching into space, with nothing but darkness and uncertainty beyond it. What’s there to do but to keep pressing forward into that darkness, and to hope that somewhere at the end of the darkness is a place where I’d want to be?

Let’s find out together.

Leave a Reply

