2. 500 Words and 10,000 Reasons

To be a writer is to write every day of the year, except on Christmas and your birthday; but you secretly write on Christmas and your birthday anyway when no one’s looking. That’s what Stephen King said, more or less.

Side note: I’ve only recently got into Mr. King’s writing. Currently on the fifth book of The Dark Tower series, and loving every page of it. He wrote this book deceptively titled “On Writing”, in which he calls out every how-to guide on writing as complete bullshit. It’s quite a read.

But I digress.

This return to blogging was something I had not planned on doing, not until 2014. I could give you a whole list of reasons why 2014 would be the best time for me to start blogging – I would have graduated and free from worries about exams and assignments; I would be a person in transition, which apparently makes very good blog material; it’s a nice, new start…

(et cetera)

But that all went out the window during a conversation I had with Vivian after church. I was explaining exactly what I planned to do, the reasons and rationale of my plans; and she had the most eloquent thing to say in response:

“If you keep saying you’ll do it in the future, you’ll never do it.”

In other words: utter bull. If you don’t want to do it, you’ll find an excuse. If you want to do it, you’ll find a way.

I want to be a writer. I have wanted to be one since I was 16. I have wanted to be a writer ever since I stopped being indecisive about what I wanted to be. And it’s about time I found a way to be a serious one.

500 words a day, give or take. This shall be my commitment to this blog – through rain, shine, haze, and hailstorm. For every thousand good reasons why I cannot meet the challenge, one thing trumps them all and tramples them into the ground: I want to be a good writer.

(God be willing, a great one)

And to be a good writer is to write, write, and write.

2 thoughts on “2. 500 Words and 10,000 Reasons

Leave a Reply

